Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon – Book Review

18692431

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

I recently began reading Everything, everything by Nicola Yoon because I had received an ARC of it. I had read a lot of good things about it on bookstagram posts and the blogosphere.

Unfortunately, the book did not live up to the hype (at least, in my opinion). It’s categorized as a YA novel, but it read more as a 9-12 book with YA subject matter. The book is made up of a lot of illustrations, instant message chats, and uses large font with many blank spaces. The book already looks quite small, but when you add in how little text there actually is it is quite a fast read. Despite how short of a read it was, I still wasn’t able to force myself through the book. It was an interesting concept that was executed poorly.

everything-1280x720

I understand that a girl who has been trapped inside her house for her whole life would obsess over the attractive and intriguing boy next door. I did not, however, understand why the boy next door began an interaction with her so quickly and became so insanely interested in her that he made his life revolve around a girl in a bubble. He comes into the story and then all of a sudden is magically infatuated with her. It all happened too quickly and seemed very juvenile to me. The love story is really one of the only things going on in the book and because I was so disinterested in it the book just didn’t do it for me.

I never finished reading the book so I cannot truly judge how the book was as a whole but the fact that I couldn’t power through it is not a great sign.

Rating: Could Not Finish

 

