Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – Book Review

Six-of-Crows

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

six-of-crows-no-mourners-no-funerals-prints

Six of Crows is exactly the kind of book I’ve been wanting to read lately. It’s style reminds me of Throne of Glass by Sara J. Maas but told in two books instead of six, which is nice since I have series exhaustion right now. Told from multiple POVs, Six of Crows follows six criminals as they journey across oceans and continents to attempt to break into an impenetrable fortress.

When authors use multiple POVs it can be either hit or miss for me. Sometimes some of the viewpoints in a book can seem irrelevant or the shift between viewpoints isn’t distinct enough. That’s a huge annoyance for me in books with multiple POVs, when it switches from one character’s viewpoint to another and it takes me a few paragraphs before I even realize the transition has happened. Bardugo writes her characters’ multiple viewpoints very well, with each one having a distinct narrative style while still keeping the storytelling consistent.

Even the viewpoints of characters that weren’t necessarily essential to read in order to further the plot were still highly enjoyable. It’s rare that I enjoy the viewpoints of all characters in a book but Bardugo succeeded in this. Even when reading A Song of Ice and Fire there were character chapters that I want to skip through due to boredom or indifference. I mean no offense to Martin, as I do so adore that series, but I was never all that enthralled by Davos or Sansa’s chapters.

ac0cb2b04d92203c3369e7e2968d4cf0

I enjoyed the way that the characters in Six of Crows were developed, revealing small tidbits throughout to form a bigger picture of each of their pasts. I think my favourite character has to be Inej or as they call her, The Wraith. She’s smart, sneaky, badass, and still has some of the normal teenage girl angst that makes her relatable but not enough to be annoying.

The plot is well crafted and had just enough twists to always leave me guessing. I’m also a sucker for anything supernatural so the combination of an Ocean’s Eleven style heist set in a fantastical other world where there are people with special abilities? yessssssssssss!

Plus, there are a few romantic stories going on and I do love me a good side romance in pretty much any book.

Rating: 4.5/5

For Fans Of: Throne of Glass by Sara J. Maas, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, and Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

