September TV Show Series Premiere Reviews

Limitless

My Rating: 8.5/10

IMDB Rating: 8.5/10

For Fans Of: Sherlock, ElementaryBlacklist, and Scorpion

I enjoyed the movie version of Limitless and was looking forward to seeing a weekly TV version of the starring Jake McDorman (from Greek) and Jennifer Carpenter (from Dexter), with guest appearance by Bradley Cooper. If you’re a fan of shows featuring a genius who helps solve crimes, like Sherlock and Elementary, then you’ll love Limitless. The beginning of the episode plays out almost exactly the same as the beginning of the movie did, so that was slightly unoriginal, but that was really my only disappointment from this. I enjoyed McDorman’s humour and the voice-over conversations he had with himself that help explain his train of thought.

SCREAM QUEENS

My Rating: 8.25/10

IMDB Rating: 7.2/10

For Fans Of: American Horror Story and Scream

I really enjoyed Scream Queens. It was so insanely weird and creepy and funny. Be warned though, this isn’t a serious horror TV show but is instead a fantastic satire. There is definitely some gore in this, so make sure you have a strong stomach. This premiere especially reminded me of the American Horror Story: Coven season with the the uber bitchy but funny lines. The show also left me guessing as to who is the killer and what the motive is behind the killings, which I enjoyed since that is usually pretty easy to figure out. My one worry for the show is that, since quite a few characters died in the first episode, I’m not sure how much lasting potential the show has and how they’re going to continue with other seasons. The only way I could see that working is if they turned it into an anthology series, like AHS.

Blindspot

My Rating: 6/10

IMDB Rating: 8.1/10

For Fans Of: Blacklist, Kyle XY, and Person of Interest

This was one of the shows I was most excited about. I love Jaimie Alexander (from Thor and Kyle XY) and I was intrigued about the idea of her having no memory, but being covered in tattoos that are all clues. Unfortunately, I was sadly disappointed by this premiere. Jaimie Alexander’s performance and the curiosity of wanting to find out her story were the only things I enjoyed about the show. The male FBI agent that she gets paired up with is the typical macho growly-voiced man, spouting off one-liners in the vein of CSI: Miami (ugh, I know right?). All the action was way too predictable and there were far too many coincidences that left me scoffing and rolling my eyes.

P.S. The second episode was even worse than the first. Yes, I gave it a second shot. I’m definitely done with this show now.

Minority Report

My Rating: 6.5/10

IMDB Rating: 6.1/10

For Fans Of: Almost Human, Caprica, and Continuum

I was a big fan of the movie version of this TV show and was excited to be watching a show again that was set in the future. The trailer makes the show look quite cheesy, and I’m glad I went into the show with that mindset because it was super cheeseballs. I did enjoy the futuristic setting and I liked that they didn’t do it exactly the same as Minority Report. They have instead set it after Pre-Crime has been abolished and the three children who could see the future murders (called pre-cogs) have now kind of gone into hiding. It was interesting and kind of entertaining, but followed the stereotypical procedural drama script. Oh and the main detective lady’s outfits were all about the boob. Like we get it, she has large lady lumps. Honestly, was she wearing a push-up bra while running? Can you not.

Quantico

My Rating: 8.5/10

IMDB Rating: 7.7/10

For Fans Of: Grey’s Anatomy, Cover Affairs, and How To Get Away With Murder

I’m totally addicted to this after one episode. It reminds me of Grey’s Anatomy and How To Get Away With Murder a lot. Newbies coming to the FBI training centre who have to work and live together while hiding all these secrets. Plus there’s a bombing that one of them is behind? Sign me up. I just love how many characters there are and storylines they have to explore. It also seems like they all have interesting backgrounds to their characters, which I like. So much happened in the first episode, and yet you still know almost nothing about the bombing or who these people really are. I’m very intrigued. Not exactly amazing acting, but it will definitely be a guilty pleasure must-watch for me.

