Locke & Key: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill – Graphic Novel Review

Joehilllockekey

Locke & Key tells the story of Keyhouse, an unlikely New England mansion, with fantastic doors that transform all who dare to walk through them, and home to a hate-filled and relentless creature that will not rest until it forces open the most terrible door of them all!

Until now I’ve never really been able to get into graphic novels. I’m not sure if it’s that they’re more expensive than books, that you read through them so quickly, that it leaves very little to the imagination, or that I couldn’t just get lost in words (because there are way less than I’m used to). Who knows, maybe it was, and still usually is, a combination of all these things. But, after a lot of convincing from my fellow Chapters employees and the recommendation from a booktuber that I adore, PadfootAndProngs07, I decided to try out the Locke & Key series. It’s written by Joe Hill and illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez.

locke-and-key-2

I’ve only finished the first book in the series, but man it was so good! It was beautifully illustrated and incredibly visual. I found myself slowing down and taking the time to really soak in the characters body language and facial expressions in each scene. I quickly became attached to the emotionally complex characters, and wanted to make sure that they wound up ok. I have to warn you though that this definitely isn’t a happy-go-lucky story. Within the first couple of pages you see the father get brutally murdered, and the family’s luck basically only gets worse.

After their father’s death that family moves in with their uncle (the father’s brother) into a mansion called Keyhouse, in a town called Lovecraft. The town’s name in itself doesn’t bode well for the family. For anyone who is unfamiliar with this reference, H.P. Lovecraft was an author who became incredibly famous after his death for writing tremendous horror stories. I just loved the the ominous names of both the mansion and the town.

locke-key-05

The story itself is so interesting. I love how many secrets the Keyhouse holds, and how you can see the story already building within the first book. I’m definitely excited to see what the next books have in store for each new key that is discovered, and what they will unlock. The plot is a huge reason that I was convinced to buy the series. I mean, an old mansion on a secluded island that has secret keys to doors that can unlock magic and demons, how cool does that sound?

I would highly recommend this series to anyone looking to try out graphic novels. I don’t have much experience in this department so I’m just basing my rating off of my pure enjoyment, so I would give it a 5/5

 

CHAPTERS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

YOUR LOCAL BOOKSTORE

 

2 thoughts on “Locke & Key: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill – Graphic Novel Review

  1. Book Guy Reviews says:

    oooh, this sounds awesome. Love Hill. Thanks for sharing the great review! If you’re ever interested in some other awesome book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

