The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – Book Review

5958336

Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

This post is extremely late. I finished this book a couple of months ago, but I think after completing the Mara Dyer trilogy I just needed a little break from it. Because man oh man was it ever intense!

(MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD – I don’t say exactly how the book ends, I just talk about my feelings towards the ending and the general vibe of the ending)

I’ve read a decent amount of reviews where people really hated the ending to the series, but I have to say that I enjoyed it. I was most definitely expecting it to go somewhere completely different, maybe something more depressing and on par with the way that the story was heading. I liked that it didn’t go the way that I thought and that it kind of surprised me. I also liked that at the end of a very emotionally draining series there was a happy ending. To me this made all of my reading seem worth it. Nothing frustrates me more than when you read through a whole series, get attached to all the character, and root for their lives only to have that character die or have it end in a depressing and unsatisfying way.

c7b102299ae36bc43de984aa5a33934b

The third and final book in the Mara Dyer trilogy developed Mara’s character well, exploring her dark side and the psychological toll that the journey has taken on her mental well being. I enjoyed that it brought other characters in that could understand her messed up situation and provide support for her. This allowed both Mara and myself (the reader) to feel less isolated and frustrated by the challenges faced in the book.

Bringing Jamie back in to the book allowed for some brevity and humour in the story, because man is her ever sarcastic and hilarious. I think this was key to my enjoyment of the third book, because by that point Mara’s perspective was very draining and depressing to read. By having Jamie in there it gave me some reprieve from the intensity. This leads me to another thing that I loved about this book… it feature Noah’s point of view! This was extremely well done, and completely necessary for the final scenes of the book.

(MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD)

My one big drawback is that, although I liked the ending, it just seemed too happy for me. They just went through something ridiculously messed up and traumatic, but they’re fine and just going about their daily lives. Also, it never talked about what happened to the girl (who’s name I now can’t remember because it’s been so long since I finished it) who was stuck in the asylum with them and escaped and went through all the same messed up stuff they did as well. She just peaced it in the last half of the book and wasn’t really talked about again. But, mostly it’s all aces with this series.

I would give it 4.25/5

CHAPTERS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

YOUR LOCAL BOOKSTORE

