Liebster Award

liebster-award-button

The wonderful Literature Life nominated me for the Liebster Award earlier this week, which is very exciting since It’s my first nomination. The award is designed to help people discover new bloggers, which I think is a wonderful way to show blogger support.

THE RULES

  • Link back to the person that nominated you
  • Answer the questions given by the nominator
  • Nominate new bloggers (with less than 200 followers)
  • Come up with 11 questions for them to answer
  • Notify your nominees

I Nominate:

Once Upon A Bookshelf

Reinreads

Running Through The Library

Crap Books

 

QUESTIONS FROM AMY

1. Where is your favourite reading spot?

My favourite reading spot would have to be cozied up in bed. I have tons of pillows and can create a little pillow and blanket castle for myself.

2. How long does it tend to take you to read an average length novel?

If I’m really into a book I will usually finish it in one night, but when I’m in school I usually only read 1-2 books per week.

3. Ebooks or hard copies?

Hard Copies!! I work in a bookstore and am therefore a huge advocate for physical books. I also just love the feeling of a book, the smell of a book, and conversations started by people seeing what book I’m reading. Even when I go travelling I love love love physical books.

4. Where is your favourite book store in the world?

I should say Chapters Indigo (which I do love), because I work there…. but I really really love Powell’s Books in Portland. It’s so huge!!! I went there for the first time this fall and only had enough time to spend 3 hours there, but I would have spent all day there if I could. I’m also  huge fan of Shakespeare and Co. bookshops, and have been to one in Prague, Vienna, Paris, and London.

5. What is your favourite book to (film/TV/stage/game) adaptation?

This will probably be my longest answer since it combines all my biggest obsessions and I can’t just choose one. The first few Harry Potter movies of course! The later ones I still adored, obvs, but didn’t stick to the storyline quite as well. I also really loved The Fault in Our Stars adaptation of John Green’s novel and am super excited for Paper Towns this summer as I slightly adore Nat Wolff since the movie Stuck in Love . Also, can I just say that the music in the Paper Towns trailer is tops! I recently watched The Duff, and I actually enjoyed it better than the book. It was funnier, and I understood the main character’s relationship choices more in the movie. Mae Whitman, who plays the main character in The Duff, is amazing and hilarious and perfectly awkward for the role (She was also in The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Parenthood). Last, but not least, Game of Thrones!! It is one of the most epic TV shows I have ever watched, and this current season (which is the 5th) is going to be bringing in story lines that are no longer in the books!

6. What was the last book you found yourself not able to finish?

Don’t Stop Now by Julie Halpern. I found myself getting frustrated and kind of disgusted by the  lack of empathy shown by the main character, Lillian, for the issues her friend, Penny, is going through. She doesn’t seem to care that Penny is in an abusive relationship and has been conditioned into her submissive mentality, and just constantly mentions how annoying Penny is. Then she just goes back to being in love with her best friend Josh, like her friend hasn’t completely run away from her messed up life. I know that Lillian is only 18 and might not have as much understand on the subject of abuse, but her whole nonchalant-blaming-the-victim attitude was just too much for me and I had to stop reading it.

7. Have you ever met any of your favourite authors?

Yes! Working at Chapters I was able to work book events for Evangeline Lilly, John Cleese, Chris Guillebeau and Martin Short. I also went to a book talk and signing for Holly Black and Cassandra Clare a few years ago, which was amazing and hilarious. Cassandra told us a story about having her friend lock her in the trunk of a car and drive around town so that she could get the proper descriptions for a scene in her Mortal Instruments series.

8. If you weren’t a book blogger (or bookish at all), what would you spend your spare time doing?

Aside from hanging out with people i would probably be baking, crafting, and watching lots of TV and movies. I love being creative and doing DIY projects. I’m super excited for when the time comes that I move out and can find free and creative ways to decorate my place entirely with DIY projects. I’ve been a huge baker since I was a wee one and have signed up to take buttercream cake decorating classes at Michael’s craft store in May. So excited!!

9. What was your favourite book of 2014?

My favourite book of 2014 was probably a tie between Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas and I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson.

10. What are you most looking forward to reading in the rest of 2015?

Oh how to choose? Here are a few…

carry-on-book-720x450

1. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell – October 2015

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story-but far, far more monsters. It’s the real story of the fanfiction that Cath was writing about in Fangirl!!!

d90fedf0-605f-0132-1785-0a7dfd902b7c

2. The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick – Out Now

The book has four interlocking stories that chronicle creation, obsession, and madness from the Paleolithic era all the way into our future in space. It makes stops in every American Horror Story’s favorite places: the witch hunts and a 1920s asylum, but the story defies expectations on every single page.

5ce540b0-605f-0132-1778-0a7dfd902b7c

3. Mosquitoland by David Arnold – Out Now

A young girl who hops a bus from Mississippi to Ohio to visit her sick mother, and who, like other great literary road-trippers, learns a whole lot about herself along the way. Arnold has already been chosen with nine other debut novelists for the ABA Indies New Voices list, and that’s not an honor given lightly, so it’s definitely a book to keep your eye on.

18006496

4. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas – September 2015

The 4th book in the Throne of Glass series!!

20560137

5. An Ember in the Ashes by Sahaa Tahir – Out Now

Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom.

 

11. If you were (or are) a writer, which genre of books would you write?

Probably contemporary young adult fiction because I suck at creating new worlds from my imagination and would need to pull a lot from real life, but I am no way at all ever going to be a writer.

MY 11 QUESTIONS

1. What are some books that you re-read frequently?

2. What are three 2015 books that you love the cover design of? (Make sure to add pictures)

3. What is your favourite beverage to drink while reading?

4. What book to screen adaptation are you most excited for in 2015?

5. Who are your favourite book boyfriends?

6. What lessons have books taught you?

7. If you could only pick 1 genre to read forever, which one would it be and why?

8. What time of day do you do the most reading?

9. What are your ‘guilty pleasure’ books to read?

10. What is your favourite book series of all-time?

and borrowing this one from Amy because I love it…

11. What books are you most excited to read in 2015?

Hope you enjoy! And make sure to go and checkout the blogs I nominated and follow them if you enjoy their style 🙂

 

