The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – Book Review

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.
She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.
She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.
After Mara survives the traumatizing accident at the old asylum, it makes sense that she has issues. She lost her best friend, her boyfriend, and her boyfriend’s sister, and as if that weren’t enough to cope with, her family moves to a new state in order to give her a fresh start. But that fresh start is quickly filled with hallucinations—or are they premonitions?—and then corpses, and the boundary between reality and nightmare is wavering. At school, there’s Noah, a devastatingly handsome charmer who seems determined to help Mara piece together what’s real, what’s imagined—and what’s very, very dangerous.

Cover

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin has been getting major buzz all over the Instagrams and blogs of the book obsessed. I had always assumed, due to my evaluation of the cover, that it was purely a dramatic teen romance and nothing else. Despite this I was pretty curious to see why people loved it so much. Well, let me say that my judgment based on the cover was, although partially right, definitely misleading.

AssCrown

This book is most definitely an epic  and dramatic teen love affair, but with a whole lot of crazy thrown in. Although I don’t personally find the ‘hate-at-first-sight-then-fall-in-love’ trope realistic, I’m still a sucker for it (ugh, what does that say about me?). One of my favourite things about Mara and Noah’s love me/hate me, will they/won’t they relationship is their witty/sexual/sarcastic banter. I have never seen so many sarcastic sexual innuendoes, and so humorously written, in a teen read.

The first book in a trilogy, it’s hard to judge at this point whether Mara’s character will develop and grow up. I’m hoping she will, because there were a couple of decisions that Mara made that I can only relate to the decision of the horror movie girl by herself who goes into the pitch black basement to check on the scary noise. But, more often than not I understood her decisions.

Noah

I absolutely adored the thrill ride that was figuring out Mara’s present and her past. I never was completely sure if Mara was just crazy, or if she truly had powers. The ending was such a perfect cliffhanger to suck me into the 2nd book. Not joking, I went out and bought the sequel the next day.

For Fans Of: The Mediator series by Meg Cabot, The Diviners by Libba Bray, The Ghosts of Ashbury High by Jaclyn Moriarty

P.S. If you haven’t read The Mediator series by Meg Cabot, it’s a super addictive fast-paced read about a girl who can communicate with the dead. When she moves to a new city with her family there is a young attractive ghost haunting her new bedroom. While trying to ignore him she also has to deal with the ghosts that want her help, or simply want revenge…

megcabot-mediator

Leave a Reply

